Select Page

Legislative Update

State Sen. Craig announces he will not seek reelection

by | May 19, 2020 | Legislative Update Blog, State Issue | 0 comments

State Senator Dave Craig (R-Big Bend) has announced he will not seek reelection to the state Senate. He is (by our count) the eighth member of the 33-member state Senate that will not be back next session, including four Democrats and four Republicans.

The GOP currently holds the Senate majority by an 18 to 13 margin with two vacancies.

Sen. Craig joins several of his colleagues in likely not returning for various reasons:

  • Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau, running for Congress);
  • Minority Leader Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse, resigned-seat currently vacant);
  • Education Committee Chair Luther Olsen (R-Ripon, retiring);
  • Sen. Tom Tiffany (R-Minocqua, elected to Congress; resigned-seat currently vacant);
  • Sen. Mark Miller (D-Monona, retiring);
  • Sen. Fred Risser (D-Madison, retiring);
  • Sen. Dave Hanson (D-Green Bay, retiring). 


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to one or both WASB blogs!

* indicates required
WASB Blogs

Follow WASB on Twitter

WI School Boards

The WASB has scheduled a complimentary webinar next week about safely returning to work during a pandemic. It will be held on Wednesday, June 10 at noon. No registration is required. Learn more at our webinars page:…

Like WASB on Facebook