Select Page

Legislative Update

Rep. Nygren reappointed budget committee co-chair

by | Nov 13, 2020 | Legislative Update Blog, State Budget | 0 comments

Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) has, as expected, reappointed Rep. John Nygren (R-Marinette) as Assembly Co-Chair of the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee.  He joins Sen. Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green) as the co-chairs of the committee that will lead the Legislature’s work on the 2021-23 state budget. See: Nygren Statement. Vos Statement.

Additional details from

“The appointment, which had been expected, makes the Marinette Republican the Assembly’s longest-serving co-chair since the budget committee was created in 1911.

“It will be Nygren’s fifth term leading the committee, breaking a tie with Rep. Alfred Ludvigsen, R-Hartland, for the longest-serving Assembly co-chair. Ludvigsen led the committee for four straight sessions starting in 1949.

“Outgoing Senate Co-chair Alberta Darling, R-River Hills, and former Sen. Walter Hollander, R-Rosendale, are the longest-serving chairs in either house, tied at six sessions apiece.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to one or both WASB blogs!

* indicates required
WASB Blogs

Follow WASB on Twitter

WI School Boards

The recording of the January video update is now online, complete with links to each topic discussed. Find it at the bottom of our webinars page, under the "Complimentary WASB Webinars and Online Workshops" tab.…

Like WASB on Facebook