Select Page

Legislative Update

Assembly Education Committee announces hearing on Sept. 29th

by | Sep 22, 2023 | Legislative Update Blog, State Issue

Kitchens PhotoThe Assembly Committee on Education, chaired by Rep. Joel Kitchens (R-Sturgeon Bay), announced today they will be holding a public hearing and executive session on Thursday, September 28th at 9:00am. During the executive session, the committee will take a vote on two bills that if approved will go before the full Assembly for a vote. In the public hearing the committee will receive testimony on three bills affecting WI schools. A rundown of the full committee agenda is listed below:


Executive Session:

  • Assembly Bill 108 – Relating to: the definition of “strip search” for the purpose of the prohibition
    against strip-searching a pupil.

    • By Representatives Steffen, Behnke, Armstrong, Baldeh, Bodden, Brooks,
      Dittrich, Duchow, Mursau, Novak, Ortiz-Velez, Rodriguez, Rozar, Sortwell, Subeck and
      Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, James, Felzkowski, Nass, Roys, Spreitzer,
      Stafsholt and Wanggaard.
  • Assembly Bill 293 – Relating to: defining critical mapping data for school safety plans.
    • By Representatives Schutt, Allen, Binsfeld, Dittrich, Duchow, Green, Gundrum,
      S. Johnson, Michalski, Murphy, Nedweski, O’Connor, Rettinger, Schraa, Shankland,
      Snyder and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, James, Ballweg, Nass and

Public Hearing:

  • Assembly Bill 403 – Relating to: restrictions on the revenue ceiling for school districts.
    • By Representatives Green, Armstrong, Binsfeld, C. Anderson, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Goeben, S. Johnson, Novak, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Sapik, Schmidt, Shankland, Steffen and Tittl; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Wanggaard, Ballweg, Cowles, Felzkowski, Larson, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and Quinn.
    • See WASB’s previous blog post on AB-403’s companion bill in the Senate.
  • Assembly Bill 223 – Relating to: maintaining a supply of usable opioid antagonist at a school.
    • By Representatives Zimmerman, Allen, C. Anderson, Behnke, Brandtjen,
      Cabrera, Dittrich, Duchow, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, O’Connor, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez,
      Sinicki, Spiros and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators James, Feyen, Hesselbein and
  • Assembly Bill 342 – Relating to: allowing school boards to employ a school district administrator who is not licensed by the department of public instruction.
    • By Representatives Wittke, Binsfeld, Bodden, Brandtjen, Donovan, Gundrum,
      Gustafson, Magnafici, Maxey, Murphy, O’Connor, Rettinger and Schraa; cosponsored by
      Senators Stroebel, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Jagler, Marklein, Nass and Tomczyk.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to the WASB blogs!

Subscribe to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Newsletter signup