Select Page

Legislative Update

Senate Republicans select new leadership team

by | Nov 5, 2020 | Election, Legislative Update Blog, State Issue | 0 comments

Senate Republicans, who hold a 21-12 numerical advantage over Democrats in the state Senate, met in caucus today (11/5) to select their leaders for the 2021-22 legislative session. that begins in January.

From …
“– Senate Republicans today selected Sen. Devin LeMahieu, R-Oostburg, to be the next majority leader and tapped Sen. Chris Kapenga, R-Delafield, for Senate president.

“LeMahieu beat out Sen. Roger Roth, R-Appleton, to succeed Sen. Scott Fitzgerald, who won the 5th CD this week.

“Kapenga beat Sen. Alberta Darling, R-River Hills, for the No. 2 spot.

“In other races:

*Sen. Dan Feyen, R-Fond du Lac, was reelected assistant majority leader.
*Sen. Pat Testin, R-Stevens Point, was elected president pro tempore.
*Sen. Van Wanggaard, R-Racine, was reelected caucus chair.
*Sen. Kathy Bernier, R-Lake Hallie, was elected caucus vice-chair.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to the WASB blogs!

Subscribe to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow WASB on Twitter

WI School Boards

The Adaptive Scholastic Athletic Program is helping teach @sunprairiek12 students about disability awareness while allowing them to play in a different pair of shoes. Read more from @nbc15_madison: