Select Page

Legislative Update

Rep. Pope and more state lawmakers announce they are not running for reelection

by | Apr 14, 2022 | Legislative Update Blog, State Issue | 0 comments

State Rep. Sondy Pope (D-Mt. Horeb) has announced she will not seek reelection to her Assembly seat. First elected to the Assembly in 2002, she was the leader for Assembly Democrats on K-12 education issues as the ranking member and former chair of the Assembly Education Committee. She is the 22nd member of the Assembly to announce plans to retire, resign or seek another office.

With Assembly Education Committee Chair Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-Fond du Lac) also not running for reelection, both Assembly Republicans and Democrats will be losing their most experienced members on K-12 issues.

Other members of the Assembly announcing this week their intention not to run for reelection:

  • Tyler Vorpagel (R – Plymouth)
  • Cody Horlacher (R – Mukwonago)
  • Joe Sanfelippo (R – New Berlin)
  • Gary Hebl (D – Sun Prairie)
  • Nick Milroy (D – South Range)

The full list is available HERE via

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to the WASB blogs!

Subscribe to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow WASB on Twitter

WI School Boards

A Grow Your Own Cooperative organized by a group of rural Wisconsin school districts is receiving a state grant to help address the state's educator shortage. The school districts work closely with students who want to pursue teaching careers.