Select Page

Legislative Update

GOP legislative majorities elect leaders

by | Nov 11, 2022 | Legislative Update Blog, State Issue

The state Senate and state Assembly Republican legislators met to elect their leaders for the 2023-24 Legislative Session that begins in January. Legislative Democrats are expected to hold their leadership elections next week.

The results of the GOP leadership elections are below with the biggest changes in top leadership positions in the Assembly where former Majority Leader Jim Steineke did not run for reelection. (pictured: Sen. LeMahieu, Speaker Vos)


  • Senate President – Chris Kapenga (Delafield)
  • Senate President Pro Tempore – Patrick Testin (Stevens Point)
  • Majority Leader – Devin LeMahieu (Oostburg)
  • Assistant Majority Leader – Dan Feyen (Fond du Lac)
  • Caucus Chair – Van Wanggaard (Racine)
  • Caucus Vice-Chair – Joan Ballweg (Markesan)*


  • Assembly Speaker – Robin Vos (Rochester)
  • Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore – Kevin Petersen (Waupaca)*
  • Majority Leader – Tyler August (Lake Geneva)*
  • Assistant Majority Leader – Jon Plumer (Lodi)*
  • Caucus Chair – Rob Summerfield (Bloomer)*
  • Caucus Vice-Chair – Cindi Duchow (Town of Delafield)
  • Caucus Sergeant at Arms – Treig Pronschinske (Mondovi)*

*- new to that position

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to the WASB blogs!

Subscribe to receive notifications of new posts by email.