Select Page

Gov. Evers takes “wait and see” approach to state budget, possible vetoes

The Capital Times has reported that Gov. Tony Evers will make no decisions on budget vetoes (full or partial) until both houses of the legislature pass the budget bill.

Other news of note from the story is that the governor has not met with legislative leaders to negotiate any changes to the budget that was approved by the Joint Finance Committee but plans to do so before the houses convene on the budget next week.  The Assembly plans to take up the bill a week from today (on June 25) with the Senate to follow a day or two later.

Capital Times: Evers says no decision on partial, full vetoes until budget passes Assembly, Senate

JFC finishes work on state budget

The legislature’s powerful Joint Finance Committee (JFC) finished its work on the 2019-21 state budget on June 13.  The budget now heads to each house of the state legislature–Assembly first, then Senate–for consideration before heading to Gov. Evers.

The Assembly plans to take up the budget on Tuesday, June 25 with the Senate following on the 26th or 27th according to Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald in a press conference touting the JFC proposal. (more…)

Inauguration day is here for governor, lawmakers & others


“– Tony Evers’ inaugural ceremony is set to kick off at 11 a.m. as the Dem becomes Wisconsin’s 46th guv.

“Along with Evers, Mandela Barnes will be sworn in as lt. guv, Josh Kaul will be take the oath as attorney general, and Sarah Godlewski will be sworn in as the new treasurer. Meanwhile, Secretary of State Doug La Follette will begin his 11th term as Dems hold all of the state’s constitutional offices for the first time in more than 30 years.

“Lawmakers will be sworn in early this afternoon as Republicans start their fifth straight session with majorities in both houses. The GOP advantage in the Senate will increase by one seat to 19-14. Meanwhile, the Republican majority in the Assembly will drop one to 63-36. (more…)

Senate education committee: new members and the school districts they represent

Senate committee membership for the 2019-20 legislative session has been announced. As we reported previously, former Berlin school board member state Senator Luther Olsen is returning as chairman of the Senate Committee on Education.

Former Assembly Reps. and newly elected Senators Dale Kooyenga and Kathy Bernier are new to the committee as well as former Somerset school board member Patty Schachtner, who was elected in a special election last year.  Below is the full committee roster and the school districts they represent. If you are a board member or administrator in one of these districts you are in a prime position to influence committee action on K-12 legislation this session. (more…)