Select Page

Assembly GOP sends letter to Gov. Evers detailing areas where they can work together

The entire 63 members of the state Assembly GOP caucus signed a letter to Governor Tony Evers detailing a list of goals where that they can work together on in the new 2019-20 legislative session. This comes in advance of a meeting of the new governor and both Assembly & Senate GOP members on Jan. 15. Included in the letter was support for K-12 education:

“Support for K-12 education – Over the past eight years, Assembly Republicans have supported record investments in education, totaling over $40 billion.  Providing adequate resources to our public, choice, charter and homeschooling families is a very high priority for us and we look forward to working with you to meet the historic two-thirds funding threshold that Assembly Republicans set as a goal for the next state budget.”

For context on returning to two-thirds state funding and if it means more resources for schools see this previous post. (more…)

Inauguration day is here for governor, lawmakers & others


“– Tony Evers’ inaugural ceremony is set to kick off at 11 a.m. as the Dem becomes Wisconsin’s 46th guv.

“Along with Evers, Mandela Barnes will be sworn in as lt. guv, Josh Kaul will be take the oath as attorney general, and Sarah Godlewski will be sworn in as the new treasurer. Meanwhile, Secretary of State Doug La Follette will begin his 11th term as Dems hold all of the state’s constitutional offices for the first time in more than 30 years.

“Lawmakers will be sworn in early this afternoon as Republicans start their fifth straight session with majorities in both houses. The GOP advantage in the Senate will increase by one seat to 19-14. Meanwhile, the Republican majority in the Assembly will drop one to 63-36. (more…)

Legislative leadership positions remain largely unchanged

The four legislative caucuses recently met to elect their leadership teams and, on the whole, there were not many changes from last session.

Lawmakers new to their leadership posts are marked *.

Senate Republicans re-elected Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) as Majority Leader and Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton) as President.  Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) returns as Senate Co-Chair of the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee (JFC).  Also elected to the Senate GOP leadership team are Sens.: (more…)