Select Page

In addition to school board elections, there will be 59 school referenda on the Tuesday, April 2 spring general election ballot in school districts across the state.

The April 2 ballot includes seven referenda to exceed revenue limits on a recurring basis, 26 referenda to exceed revenue limits on a nonrecurring basis and 26 borrowing referenda.

Due to restrictions enacted as part of 2017 Wisconsin Act 59 (the 2017-19 Biennial Budget), school district referenda can only be held on the regularly scheduled Spring or Fall election days, except in the case of a natural emergency. This is the last opportunity for a referendum in calendar 2019 as there will be no fall elections this year.  The next regularly scheduled election after April 2, 2019 would be the Spring Primary, Tuesday, February 18, 2020.

  • Referenda to exceed revenue limits on a recurring basis are on the ballot in the Deforest Area, Freedom Area, Marshall, Potosi, Shorewood, Somerset, and Sun Prairie school districts.
  • Referenda to exceed revenue limits on a non-recurring basis are on the ballot in the following school districts: Frederic, Glendale-River Hills, Goodman-Armstrong, Holmen, Kettle Moraine, Lake Holcombe, Laona, Luck, Maple Dale-Indian Hill, Marshall, New Berlin, Oakfield, Osceola, Owen-Withee, Palmyra-Eagle Area, Port Edwards, Rio Community, River Valley, Salem, Sparta Area, Sturgeon Bay, Tomah Area, Washington, West Salem, Whitehall, and Wisconsin Heights.
  • Referenda to approve borrowing (debt issuance) will go before voters in the following districts: Albany, Baraboo, Clinton Community, Deforest Area, Fond du Lac (2), Frederic, Freedom Area, Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau, Kaukauna Area, Luck, Manawa, Maple Dale-Indian Hill, Milton, Mineral Point, Neenah, Saint Francis, Shorewood, Siren (2), Somerset, Spencer, Spring Valley, Sun Prairie, Waterford UHS, and West Bend.

Good luck to all school board candidates on the April 2 ballot.  Please be sure to vote.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email