Select Page

The four legislative caucuses recently met to elect their leadership teams and, on the whole, there were not many changes from last session.

Lawmakers new to their leadership posts are marked *.

Senate Republicans re-elected Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) as Majority Leader and Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton) as President.  Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) returns as Senate Co-Chair of the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee (JFC).  Also elected to the Senate GOP leadership team are Sens.:

  • Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green) President Pro-Tempore;
  • *Dan Feyen (R-Fond du Lac) Assistant Majority Leader (replacing Sen. Leah Vukmir);
  • Van Wanggaard (R- Racine) Caucus Chair; and
  • Patrick Testin (R-Stevens Point) Caucus Vice-Chair.

Senate Democrats re-elected Sen. Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse) as Minority Leader. Also elected to the Senate Dem leadership team are Sens.:

  • Janet Bewley (D-Delta) Assistant Minority Leader;
  • Mark Miller (D-Monona) Caucus Chair; and
  • Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville) Caucus Vice-Chair.

Assembly Republicans re-elected Rep. Robin Vos (R-Rochester) as Assembly Speaker and Rep. Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna) as Majority Leader.  Rep. John Nygren (R-Marinette) returns as Assembly Co-Chair of the JFC.  Also elected to the Assembly GOP leadership team are Reps.:

  • Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva) Speaker Pro Tempore;
  • *Mary Felzkowski (R-Irma) Assistant Majority Leader (replacing Rep. Rob Brooks);
  • Dan Knodl (R-Germantown) Caucus Chair;
  • Romaine Quinn (R-Barron) Caucus Vice-Chair;
  • Jessie Rodriguez (R-Oak Creek) Caucus Secretary; and
  • Samantha Kerkman (R-Salem) Sergeant-at-Arms.

Assembly Democrats re-elected Rep. Gordon Hintz (D-Oshkosh) as Minority Leader and  also re-elected all the members of the existing Assembly Dem leadership team, including Reps.:

  • Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton) Assistant Minority Leader;
  • Mark Spreitzer (D-Beloit) Caucus Chair;
  • Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska) Caucus Vice-Chair;
  • Beth Meyers (D-Bayfield) Caucus Secretary; and
  • Christine Sinicki (D-Milwaukee)Sergeant-at-Arms.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email