Select Page

From a WisDOJ release: Attorney General Brad Schimel today announced plans for a second round of grant funding by utilizing the approximately $45 million in remaining school safety money available. The second round of funding will focus on advanced initiatives to bolster student mental health, the creation of local School Safety Intervention teams, and additional physical security upgrades. K-12 schools, both public and private, are encouraged to apply for the next round of grants, which will be awarded starting in October. Attorney General Schimel also announced today a list of 67 schools and school districts that combined will receive $4,912,591 from the first round of the Wisconsin Department of Justice (WisDOJ) School Safety Grant program.

The second round of grant funding, utilizing the remaining $45 million, will advance  baseline mental health and physical security improvements made in the first round of grant funding through advanced training for teachers on mental health; the creation of local teams of educators, counselors, and law enforcement to develop School Safety Intervention Teams that will assess threats and identify students in need of support; and additional physical security upgrades. Schools interested in applying for the second round of grant funding must submit a mandatory “intent to apply” to the OSS by August 13, 2018.

Schools applying for the second round of grant funding must agree to send 10 percent of full-time teachers and counselors to DOJ-approved 12-hour Adolescent Mental Health training by August 31, 2020, and schools may use grant funds to pay expenses incurred (tuition, travel, lodging, meals, substitute teacher pay, etc.). Schools applying must also establish a School Safety Intervention Team (SSIT), based on a model set by the U.S. Secret Service, which will engage in behavior monitoring, threat assessments, and intervention. Funding will also be available for more physical security improvements.

Schools and school districts that applied for the first round of grants are eligible for the second round of grants, and will apply for the second round through a simplified grant application process. Schools and school districts that did not apply for the first round of grants are eligible for the second round of grants, but will need to satisfy all prerequisites of the first round and second round of grant funding.

Under the second round of grant funding, grant funding will be awarded on a per-student formula, according to student enrollment as reported to the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI). No awardee will receive less than $10,000 nor receive more than $2.5 million, in order to ensure all applicants receive sufficient funding to make meaningful physical security improvements. The final award amount will depend on the number and size of schools that apply. Interested schools can find more information on the DOJ Office of School Safety website.

List of schools awarded grants on July 24, 2018 are listed below. More grants will be awarded to schools that applied for the first round of grant funding soon.

  • Almond-Bancroft School District, $61,579;
  • Bay City Christian School (Green Bay), $20,000;
  • Belleville School District, $77,611;
  • Bethlehem Evangelical Lutheran School (Menomonee Falls), $20,430;
  • Bethlehem Lutheran School (Sheboygan), $19,942;
  • Boscobel Area School District, $54,906;
  • Cambria-Friesland School District, $39,993;
  • Chequamegon School District, $99,738;
  • Clintonville Public Schools, $83,860;
  • Crandon School District, $60,000;
  • Cuba City School District, $60,000;
  • Divine Redeemer Lutheran School (Hartland), $23,650;
  • Divine Savior Catholic School (Kiel), $16,186;
  • Divine Savior Holy Angels High (Milwaukee), $21,714;
  • Dodgeland School District, $57,796;
  • Drummond Area School District, $63,378;
  • Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah School District, $40,000;
  • Elkhorn Area School District, $138,994;
  • Ellsworth Community School District, $54,751;
  • First Evangelical Lutheran School (Elkhorn), $19,526;
  • Gibraltar Area School District, $60,000;
  • Gillett School District, $61,200;
  • Grantsburg School District, $68,590;
  • Hamilton School District, $148,208;
  • Highland School District, $62,100;
  • Holyland Catholic School (Malone), $19,890;
  • Immaculate Heart of Mary Grade School (Monona), $20,000;
  • Jefferson School District, $88,219;
  • Kaukauna Area School District, $146,240;
  • La Casa de Esperanza Charter School (Waukesha), $23,153;
  • Linn J4 School District, $16,224;
  • Lodi School District, $105,140;
  • Manitowoc School District, $227,080;
  • Marathon City School District, $62,924;
  • Marion School District, $41,580;
  • Norris School District, $20,653;
  • North Cedar Academy (Ladysmith), $19,988;
  • North Lakeland School District, $20,000;
  • Northland Lutheran High School (Kronenwetter), $17,382;
  • Osceola School District, $98,491;
  • Osseo-Fairchild School District, $58,688;
  • Our Redeemer Lutheran School (Delavan), $20,423;
  • Our Savior Evangelical Lutheran School (Grafton), $20,685;
  • Pepin Area School District, $40,540;
  • Randolph School District, $49,015;
  • Random Lake School District, $59,820;
  • River Valley School District, $85,850;
  • Saint Henry Grade School (Watertown), $20,000;
  • Saint Joseph Grade School (Menomonie), $18,124;
  • Saint Luke Grade School (Plain), $19,970;
  • Saint Mary of the Immaculate Conception (Greenville), $20,101;
  • Saint Mary Parish School (Hales Corners), $19,994;
  • Saint Mary Parish School (Menomonee Falls), $12,511;
  • Saint Paul Lutheran Grade School (Sheboygan), $19,971;
  • Saint Rose & St Mary Grade School (Clintonville), $10,885;
  • Sauk Prairie School District, $126,986;
  • Seton Catholic Schools, Inc. (Milwaukee), $295,771;
  • Sheboygan Area Lutheran High School, $19,825;
  • St. Joseph Grade School (Dodgeville), $20,068;
  • Sun Prairie Area School District, $300,000;
  • Trinity Lutheran Grade School (Mequon), $19,740;
  • Trinity Lutheran School (Athens), $18,033;
  • Watertown Unified School District, $188,632;
  • Waupaca School District, $119,489;
  • Webster School District, $62,488;
  • Weyauwega-Fremont School District, $86,672;
  • Whitewater Unified School District, $100,063.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email