Select Page

About WASB

Region 4

​Alan Tuchtenhagen, River Falls
Region 4 Director


Alan has been a member of the River Falls School Board since 2008 and serves as board clerk in addition to chairing the Education Programs Committee.  He is the proud father of three sons, all graduates of River Falls High School.

A frequent presenter at regional and national forums related to education (including the WI State Education Convention), Alan is Associate Vice Chancellor Emeritus at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. From 2011-2021 he was the director of the Augsburg University Center for Leadership Studies and the Master of Arts in Leadership. He is a former admissions director, dean of students, and aid to U.S. Senator John Culver. Alan’s career has spanned more than 45 years at colleges and universities, public and private.

Alan holds bachelors and master’s degrees in American history and a Doctorate in Public Administration. He served as the Wisconsin state representative to the national ACT Board for 11 years and is also a past president of the Wisconsin Association of Collegiate Registrar’s and Admissions Officers.

Alan believes in the importance of high-quality public schools and his guiding principle as a board member is to advocate for all students and families. That’s our job. In his work with state and national lawmakers, his focus is on encouraging bipartisan/nonpartisan solutions for our schools. He is a consensus builder who is proud of his board’s ability to work together constructively even when they disagree.

Region 4 – School Districts

  • Altoona
  • Augusta
  • Baldwin-Woodville Area
  • Bloomer
  • Boyceville Community
  • Cadott Community
  • CESA 10
  • Chippewa Falls Area
  • Colfax
  • Cornell
  • Durand-Arkansaw
  • Eau Claire Area
  • Eleva-Strum
  • Elk Mound Area
  • Ellsworth Community
  • Elmwood
  • Fall Creek
  • Gilmanton
  • Glenwood City
  • Hudson
  • Lake Holcombe
  • Menomonie Area
  • Mondovi
  • New Auburn
  • New Richmond
  • Osseo-Fairchild
  • Pepin Area
  • Plum City
  • Prescott
  • River Falls
  • Saint Croix Central
  • Somerset
  • Spring Valley
  • Stanley-Boyd Area
Print Friendly, PDF & Email