Select Page

No K-12 legislation being publicly discussed for extraordinary session…yet

The GOP-controlled legislature is planning an extraordinary session to pass legislation while Gov. Scott Walker still holds office and before Gov-elect Tony Evers takes office on January 7, 2019.  This could happen as soon as the week of Dec 3.

According to media reports (see: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Wisconsin State Journal), several items are being discussed for the session: (more…)

Legislative leadership positions remain largely unchanged

The four legislative caucuses recently met to elect their leadership teams and, on the whole, there were not many changes from last session.

Lawmakers new to their leadership posts are marked *.

Senate Republicans re-elected Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) as Majority Leader and Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton) as President.  Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) returns as Senate Co-Chair of the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee (JFC).  Also elected to the Senate GOP leadership team are Sens.: (more…)

Special election: Democrats flip state Senate seat; GOP retains Assembly seat

The results of Tuesday’s special election are in: Democrat Caleb Frostman defeated Rep. Andre Jacque (R-De Pere) for the 1st Senate District seat vacated by former Sen. Frank Lasee (R).  Republican Jon Plumer defeated Ann Groves Lloyd for the 42nd Assembly seat vacated by former Rep. Keith Ripp (R). They will hold office until they run again for the same seats this November. Whoever wins in November will take office in January 2019. Both seats were vacated when Lasee and Ripp took jobs with Gov. Walker’s administration.  (more…)

Special election field set for two state legislative seats

From the Wisconsin State Journal:

State Rep. Andre Jacque (pictured) defeated Alex Renard in the 1st Senate District primary, which includes the Door County peninsula. He will face Democrat Caleb Frostman in the June 12 general election.

If Jacque wins the seat, Republicans would hold a three-vote margin in the Senate should it convene again to vote this year. If Frostman wins, the margin would be down to two votes. The Legislature is not scheduled to reconvene until next year.

Jon Plumer, a karate school owner who received hefty financial backing from Assembly Republicans, bested three other Republican contenders — Colleen Locke-Murphy, Darren Schroeder and Spencer Zimmerman. He faces Democrat Ann Groves Lloyd on June 12 for a south-central Wisconsin Assembly seat that includes part of Dane County.

Rep. Ed Brooks not seeking re-election

Rep. Ed Brooks (R-Reedsburg) has announced he will not seek re-election to the state Assembly. He is the latest on a growing list of state legislators that have announced they are not running for re-election. We will keep you updated if more announcements are made.

Here is the updated listing of the lawmakers who have announced they are not running for re-election to their current seats:

AD=Assembly District; SD=Senate District (more…)